West Ham United have announced their retained list for the 2013/14 season with George McCartney and Jack Collison leaving Upton Park on free transfers.

Midfielder Joe Cole announced last week he would leave the Boleyn Ground with his contract due to expire, whilst academy graduate Jordan Spence took to Twitter to confirm he would leave the Irons after a long-association with the club.

Veteran goalkeeper Jussi Jaaskelainen and left-sider Matt Taylor remain in discussions with the club regarding new contracts and the Hammers have taken up the option to extend Dan Potts' deal by a further 12 months.

McCartney, 33, rejoined the Hammers from Sunderland in 2011 before signing a permanent contract in the summer of 2012.

Across two stints with the Irons, the Northern Irish defender made 154 appearances and scored once.

Homegrown midfielder Collison, 25, spent a large chunk of the campaign out on loan with Championship sides Bournemouth and Wigan Athletic.

The Welsh international made 121 appearances in claret and blue, scoring on 14 occasions.

Second year scholars Kieran Bywater, Josh Cullen, Jamie Harney, Moses Makasi, Nathan Mavila, Amos Nasha and Lewis Page have agreed their first professional deals, while Ben Marlow and Taylor Tombides have agreed deals to become third-year scholars.

Callum Driver, Dymon Labonne, Rob Girdlestone, Thomas Gogo, Gines Guzman Rosique, Courtney Homans, Taylor Miles and Frazer Shaw will all be released when their contracts expire on June 30.