The results of the Epping Forest Youth Council elections were announced tonight. 

A total of 21 seats were decided after 2,488 pupils across Epping Forest cast votes at their schools.

The council holds the authorities to account on behalf of young people.

The following candidates were elected.

Braeside School

Rose Compton from Loughton Forest Ward
Olivia Storey from Loughton St Johns Ward

Chigwell School

Thomas Bromwich from North Weald Bassett Ward
Nathan Watkis-Popat from Chigwell Village Ward

Davenant Foundation School

Joseph Pascoe from Theydon Bois Ward
Julie Turrell from Epping Lindsey and Thornwood Common Ward

Debden Park High School

Lucy Berry from Theydon Bois Ward
George Miller from Loughton Broadway Ward

King Harold Academy

Drew Bridger from Waltham Abbey Patternoster Ward
Chloe McKendrick from Waltham Abbey North East Ward

Roding Valley High School

Doncho Atanassoy from Loughton St Mary’s Ward
Matthew Tinker from Loughton St Mary’s Ward

St John’s C of E School

Rory Kerr from Passingford Ward
Leonora Troshupa from Waltham Abbey Honey Lane Ward

West Hatch High School

Malachi Fontenelle from Loughton Alderton Ward
Fred Skipper from Buckhurst Hill East Ward

Independent Youth Councillors

Fatemeh Ekhteyary from Waltham Abbey Honey Lane Ward
Evangeline Foster from Loughton St Mary’s Ward
Jaymey McIvor from North Weald Bassett Ward
Imogen Padwick from Loughton Forest Ward
Hazels Towns from Waltham Abbey Honey Lane Ward

Mrs Sartin thanked all of the young people who took part in the elections.

She said: “Thank you to all the other students that have taken part in the elections this year.

“We hope that you are able to continue to support the Youth Council and the young people elected from your schools.”