The UK Independence Party (UKIP) gianed a seat from the Liberal Democrats in the Eastern region as they claimed victory in the European election.

Conservative and Labour retained their seats, winning three and one respectively.

Voting in Epping Forest reflected the region as a whole, with UKIP receiving 13,866 of the 34,429 votes.

Conservatives won 10,742 and Labour 3,915.

The seven elected representatives for the Eastern region were:

Patrick O’Flynn –UKIP
John Agnew – UKIP
Tim Aker – UKIP
Victoria Ford – Conservative
Geoffrey Van Orden – Conservative
David Campbell Bannerman – Conservative
Richard Howitt – Labour

The turnout for the election was 36.19 per cent.