A CAMPAIGNER who led the fight to save Whipps Cross University Hospital has been honoured by the hospital trust.

Charlotte Monro, chairwoman of the Save Whipps Cross campaign, was given a special award at the hospital's Employee of the Year 2009 evening.

The hospital's chief executive Lucy Moore described Ms Monro as “one of Whipps Cross's greatest champions.”

On receiving her award, Ms Monro said: “Everybody deserves to value the service they receive from the hospital and value their friends and family and if somebody threatens that you stand up for it.”

The future of the Leytonstone hospital was placed in serious doubt when the government carried out the Fit for the Future of health services four years ago.

One of the options considered was to downgrade Whipps Cross from a district general hospital.

Thousands of local people, local MPs, councillors and union leaders joined a Guardian-supported campaign to preserve the hospital’s status.

NHS London eventually scrapped the Fit for the Future review and investment in the Leytonstone site has been promised, guaranteeing the hospital’s future.

Carmel Dinan, a paediatric nurse in Acorn Ward, was crowned Employee of the Year.

One of the people who nominated her said: “She is an energetic, kind and supportive staff member, who is always willing to help others.

“She will always come into work on her days off if the ward is short staffed and she always has time for other people.”

She was visibly shocked to receive her award.

“I had no idea I was going to win this award. I am still taking it all in. I just want to say thank you to everyone,” she said.

Other winners and runners-up included:

- Volunteer of the Year

*Orthopaedic Joint Information Group

- Contractor of the Year

*Runner-up Richard Brown, porter, Gillian Revel Unit

*Winner Eve Kimche, bereavement manager

-Team of the Year

*Third place Syringa ward

*Runner-up A & E department

*Winner Birch Ward

-Special Board Award

*Winner Dr Robert Simister

*Also awarded Charlotte Monro

-Employee of the Year

*Third place Erik Warden, theatre porter, Plane Tree Unit

*Runner-up Jane Porter, secretary

*Winner Carmel Dinan, sister Acorn Ward