Waltham Forest and Redbridge councils are up against each other to become 2019’s Local Authority of the Year.

Both authorities have been shortlisted for the title in the Municipal Journal (MJ) Achievement Awards.

The award recognises success across the organisation and is judged by a panel of experienced people from the private and public centre.

Andy Donald, chief executive of Redbridge Council, said: “Whilst the real judges of our performance are always the residents and communities that we support, being shortlisted for such a prestigious award is wonderful news.

“I’m really clear that every part of the organisation has played its role in this achievement, and I want to thank all our staff for their commitment, energy and efforts.

“Redbridge is changing rapidly and we continue to face huge challenges. We know there is much more to do, but as a borough we are proud to have come a long way in recent years.”

Redbridge Council was declared the best local authority in the country for financial efficiency for its adult social care earlier this year.

The council was also rated the sixth most financially productive authority in the annual report compiled by iMPOWER in November 2018.

Earlier this year, Waltham Forest received two transport awards for its work as part of its controversial Enjoy Waltham Forest, or Mini Holland, cycling scheme.

Both council leaders, Cllr Jas Athwal for Redbridge and Cllr Clare Coghill for Waltham Forest, were named joint council leader of the year last year.

Editor of the MJ, Heather Jameson, said: “The MJ Awards is a chance to recognise the extraordinary work of local councils across the country.

“Despite facing huge cuts to their budgets over the last decade, frontline staff are still working tirelessly to improve their communities and provide vital services to some of the most vulnerable people in the country – and that is to be celebrated.

“Being shortlisted for The MJ awards is a major achievement and all our shortlisted entrants should be very proud.”

Others in contention for the Local Authority of the Year award include neighbours Waltham Forest and Thurrock councils.

The MJ Awards have been held every year since 2004 and are one of the major events in the local government calendar.

The winners will be revealed at an awards ceremony on June 26 2019.