Two London Assembly members elected to Parliament on Thursday will give up their assembly seats at the next election.

Conservative Gareth Bacon and Labour’s Florence Eshalomi became Members of Parliament last Thursday.

Mr Bacon replaced the Prime Minister's brother Jo Johnson as the MP for Orpington, in Bromley.

He is also the London Assembly member for Bexley and Bromley, and was Tory group leader at City Hall.

Susan Hall has today been elected to replace him as Conservative leader in the Assembly.

Ms Eshalomi became the new MP for Vauxhall in Lambeth, taking over from Kate Hoey.

She is chair of the transport committee at the Assembly, where she represents Lambeth and Southwark.

Both new MPs have said they will step down from their roles in the capital at the next Greater London Authority election in May.

Mr Bacon also plans to quit as a Bexley councillor, which will trigger a by-election. He currently represents Longlands ward, near Sidcup.

The Mayor of London, Sadiq Khan, today congratulated both members for their election as MPs.

He said: I think genuinely parliament’s gain will be the Assembly and Londoners’ loss.

"They’ve done a brilliant job holding me to account but also asking the tough questions that lead to us being better in the jobs we seek to do."

He added: “From personal experience I think they’ll regret going to that place and leaving this place – but who am I to say.”Mr Khan was formerly the MP for Tooting before becoming Mayor of London in 2016.

Speaking after Thursday’s election, Mr Bacon said: “I’m very pleased indeed with the result – personally to get such a ringing endorsement from the people of Orpington, but also to get some certainty back into national government and get moving again.”

On Twitter, Ms Eshalomi said: “Thank you Vauxhall residents for this honour to represent you and for putting your faith in me. It was time for change.

“I’m truly gutted for candidates that were not re-elected. The people of Vauxhall need a Labour Government and I will continue fight for a fairer society for us all.”