Station Road, Chingford, from The Green c1950.

The Co-op was built around 1935, replacing a picturesque wooden house named Tile House.

In 1881 the census records the occupier as being Reuban Wakely, a brush maker employing 25 women and a boy.

East London and West Essex Guardian Series:

Despite ever increasing competition in the high street, the Co-op still thrives.

Follow Gary Stone on Twitter @chinghist