A newly discovered picture of SS Peter & Paul Church on The Green from c1910 showing the newly extended church and Lady Chapel (1903) in new stone.

The chapel was further extended and finally completed in 1937 and renamed St Elizabeth.

Despite being hit by a bomb in the Second World War that damaged the south side and the spire, the church stands as a major landmark in North Chingford to this day.

East London and West Essex Guardian Series:

Follow Gary Stone on Twitter @chingfordhist