WEST Ham United will be without four first-team players as they get their pre-season under way tonight.

England pair Matthew Upson and Kieron Dyer as well as defenders James Collins and Daniel Gabbidon will all miss this evening's friendly visit to Blue Square South outfit Hampton and Richmond Borough tonight (7.30pm kick-off).

The quartet have all been given the night off as manager Alan Curbishley takes a softly-softly approach in a bid to avoid of last season's injury nightmare.

The Hammers were hit by more than 50 injuries last term, with Upson (calf), Dyer (broken leg and shin splints), Collins (knee ligaments) and Gabbidon (groin) among those to miss chunks of the campaign.

The quartet will also miss the Irons' week-long tour of North America.

Curbishley's squad will fly out tomorrow morning before taking on Columbus Crew in Ohio on Sunday night and the MLS All-Stars in Toronto, Canada, next Thursday.

However, there is brighter news with regards to Wales captain Craig Bellamy, who is set to pull on a Hammers first team shirt for the first time since February 2.

The forward, who turned 29 on Sunday, has recovered fully from a long-term abdomen injury and is expected to lead the line alongside England striker Dean Ashton.

And the supply of crosses will be boosted by the return of wingers Matthew Etherington (groin) and Julien Faubert (foot), both of whom missed the tail-end of 2007/08.

Midfielder Lee Bowyer is also in line to make his first appearance since February 9.

Of those who remain, a number of others will also be unavailable for tonight's trip to the Beveree Stadium.

Teenagers James Tomkins and Freddie Sears are on international duty at the UEFA European Under-19 Championship, while American defender Jonathan Spector (hip) is out of action.

Managed by former Hammers midfield hero Alan Devonshire, Hampton and Richmond Borough enjoyed a fantastic 2007/08 season.

The Beavers, who won the Ryman League Premier Division in 2006/07, finished third in Blue Square South before losing out to Eastbourne Borough in the play-off final.

West Ham United:: (from) Green, Wright, Walker, Neill, McCartney, Ferdinand, Davenport, Eyjolfsson, Mullins, Parker, Noble, Ljungberg, Faubert, Bowyer, Collison, Etherington, Boa Morte, Ashton, Bellamy, Cole.

Hampton and Richmond: (from) Lowett, Nash, Barnett, Elverson, Harper, Inns, Lake, Matthews, Paris, Wells, Fernandes, Gardner, Harris, McIntosh, Bartley, Godfrey, Henry-Hayden, Hodges, Yaku, Frost.