A new deputy leader of Labour's Redbridge council has been appointed after new MP Wes Streeting resigned, it was announced today (May 20).

Cllr Elaine Norman will replace the MP for Ilford North following his election victory earlier this month.

Mr Streeting gained a 6.3 per cent swing from blue to red in May 7's election, beating Conservative Lee Scott by just 589 votes. 

As well as her new role as deputy leader, Cllr Norman, of the Newbury ward, will also continue as cabinet member for education.

East London and West Essex Guardian Series:

Wes Streeting is the new Labour MP for Ilford North

There has also been a reshuffle in the cabinet, with new roles for civic pride and fairness, which will focus on tackling domestic violence, poverty and inequality in the borough.

Cllr Farah Hussain will be the cabinet member for fairness, while Cllr Dev Sharma will be the cabinet member for civic pride. 

Cllr Mark Santos, of Hainault ward, was appointed as cabinet member for health.

Cllr Ross Hatfull replaces Cllr Muhammed Javed, who has lost his position in the cabinet, as the member for housing.

Council leader Jas Athwal said: “I’m delighted that Cllr Elaine Norman will be taking up the reins as deputy leader of the council.

“Elaine brings years of experience and wisdom and I’m also pleased to be able to bring some fresh talent in the form of Mark Santos and Farah Hussain into our top team.

“There are tough times ahead for local government, but we will tackle these challenges head on.

“I’d like to thank Cllr Javed for his service – not just as cabinet member for housing, but more widely – and I am grateful to him that he has made way with Cllr Streeting for some new faces at the top table.”

East London and West Essex Guardian Series:

Leader of Redbridge council Jas Athwal.