Watch John Cryer's acceptance speech following his re-election as the MP for Leyton and Wanstead.

The Labour MP won with 28,836 votes, 64.7 per cent of the vote share - down 5.1 per cent from 2017.

Conservative Noshaba Khiljee came second with 8,028 votes (18 per cent) while Liberal Democrat Benjamin Sims won 4,666 votes (10.5 per cent).

Ashley Gunstock of the Green Party won 1,804 votes (4.1 per cent), the Brexit Party’s Zulf Jannaty secured 785 (1.8 per cent), while independent Henry Scott – Britain’s youngest candidate – received 427 votes (1 per cent).

Leyton and Wanstead saw voter turnout fall 2.2 per cent from 2017, down to 68.7 per cent.

For more reaction read our exclusive story on Mr Cryer's thoughts on the night's results.